Stabilization of Nanocrystalline Grain Size at Elevated Temperatures: Theory and Experiment

18 May 2019


(Left) Professor Alex Jen, Provost and Chair Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science at CityU, presented a souvenir to Professor Carl C. Koch.

Professor Carl C. Koch, an eminent scientist in materials science and engineering, delivered a distinguished lecture titled “Stabilization of Nanocrystalline Grain Size at Elevated Temperatures: Theory and Experiment” for the Hong Kong Institute for Advanced Study (HKIAS) at City University of Hong Kong (CityU) on 17 May 2019.

In this talk, Professor Carl C. Koch, Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor of Materials Science and Engineering Department at North Carolina State University, USA, discussed and reviewed theories that have been presented for kinetic stabilization and thermodynamic stabilization.

According to Professor Koch, there are two basic ways in which grain growth can be reduced. The first is the kinetic approach in which the grain boundaries are pinned in various ways to decrease grain boundary mobility. The second is the thermodynamic approach in which the driving force for grain growth is lowered by solute segregation. Professor Koch explained in detail grain growth in nanocrystalline materials, and discussed the efficacy of the stabilization strategies. Participants were glad to have such an opportunity of having in-depth discussions with the distinguished scientist.

Professor Koch is a world authority in the area of solid amorphorization and mechanical alloying. His research is focused on the synthesis, characterization and properties of metastable materials. He has made significant contributions to understanding of mechanical alloying for preparation of amorphous and nanostructured alloys.

Professor Koch is a Fellow of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, a Member of the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society (TMS), the Materials Research Society (MRS), the American Physical Society (APS), ASM International, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).


[ Back ]